The University of Michigan vs Notre Dame

Fuck Jim Delany

Moderators: 88BuckeyeGrad, Left Seater, buckeye_in_sc

Carr Guy
Jake

The University of Michigan vs Notre Dame

Post by Carr Guy »

So Brian Kelly thinks Michigan vs Notre Dame isn't a rivalry? I beg to differ. This will always be a very, very special game to me. The first time I saw Michigan/ND was in 1997. I was a sophomore at Central Michigan and scraped up enough money to buy a ticket for the game. The only problem was I didn't have a car or a ride to the game so I posted ads around my dorm seeing if someone would want to go and split the cost of gas with me. Remember, this was before internet really took off otherwise I would have posted an ad on Craigslist, LOL.

A day later a guy a few dorms down from me knocked on my door and said he'd take me. He said he was going with his family and I could get a ride from them. I was so grateful. From that moment we struck up a bond that would later last a lifetime. We are still best friends to this day.

When we got to the game and took our seats, I breathed in the air and didn't want to exhale. I just wanted to trap that University of Michigan air in my lungs forever. When the maize and blue took the field and slapped the M Club banner, it was surreal. I had goose bumps all over. I just knew something special was about to happen. Michigan went on to beat Notre Dame that day and went on to win the National Championship that season, as I'm sure you all know. I will never forget it. Not just the game, but the relationships I made and the memories.

So, I'm sorry Brian Kelly, but this will always be a huge rivalry to me, and to thousands of other fans.