Turkey Day

"Hey Mikey"

Moderator: Mikey

Mikey
Carbon Neutral since 1955

Turkey Day

Post by Mikey »

What's your Thanksgiving menu, and how are you going to fix your turkey (assuming you'll be having one)?

I haven't worked out the whole menu yet but there are a few staples that we always have:

Turkey (stuffed)
Mashed potatoes
Peas
Some kind of sweet potato dish
Relish plate with an assortment of both fresh and pickled veggies
Pumpkin pie
Mincemeat pie

I'm going to brine my turkey and roast in the oven. I've been brining for the past 3 or 4 years and have found it to be the best way of preparing the bird. I'm going to maybe try a different brine recipe this year. Yesterday I ordered one of those fresh free-range turkeys that lived a happy life before getting slaughtered.
Ruff
Elwood

Post by Ruff »

Never stuff the turkey. Never.

You may end up with good tasting stuffing, but you will ruin the bird.

bake your stuffing in a seperate dish. The stuffing in a bird acts as a huge sponge and dries out the meat. Horrible.

I prefer to brine the bird and grill on the weber.

All of the other traditional dishes are inclueded on our table:
stuffing
mashed potatoes
sweet potatoes
cranberry relish
pie, pie pie
Mikey

Post by Mikey »

Ruff wrote: The stuffing in a bird acts as a huge sponge and dries out the meat. Horrible.
Not if you do it right.
trev
New Sheriff in Town

Post by trev »

Our usual is:

Turkey
Dressing
Gravy
Mashed potatoes
Peas
Cranberry sauce
Rolls/Butter
Pumpkin Pie

But, I'm going to try some new things this year. Maybe a pecan pie.
And researching some new side dishes.
Ruff
Elwood

Post by Ruff »

Mikey wrote:
Ruff wrote: The stuffing in a bird acts as a huge sponge and dries out the meat. Horrible.
Not if you do it right.
Feel free to share. Or not.

A turkey cooked w/o stuffing will always be more moist and tasty than a stuffed bird.
Mikey

Post by Mikey »

Ruff wrote:
Mikey wrote:
Not if you do it right.
Feel free to share. Or not.