Why Chat/Radio?

It's the 19th Anniversary for T1B - Fuckin' A

Moderator: Jesus H Christ

Smackie Chan
Eternal Scobode

Why Chat/Radio?

Post by Smackie Chan »

I’ve been hosting shows in chat/radio here for a couple years now, pretty much relying on regular listeners and word-of-mouth as the sources to build an audience base. I’m really not one to toot my own horn, so I don’t “advertise” on the board as a means of recruiting listeners. I’ll play on Friday nights whether I have one listener or 30, although I’ve never even approached having a full house. I’d be lying if I said I’m just as satisfied with small audiences as I am with larger ones – the more, the merrier. I’d like to think I provide a quality service at a fair price – what could be more fair than…nothing? But I leave it up to the listeners to determine the level of quality, and from the feedback I’ve received, I’d say the satisfaction level is pretty high.

Will every listener like every song I play? Of course not. Some tunes I play suck balls (hopefully not too many), and some shows are not as good as others. Some folks may determine that every song and every show is crap. So be it. Can’t make everyone happy all the time. But it’s fun to try to strike that delicate balance of keeping an audience of listeners with diverse musical tastes pleased over the course of a show several hours long, week in and week out. Maybe I’d be better off getting a life, but for me, doing this is as much fun as most of the other options I have, and I’m not overdoing it by taking to the interweb’s airwaves once a week.