Re: I just retired from coaching tonight

Post by Bucmonkey »

You should blame Obama...or Clinton?
Go Bucs, Gators
Atomic Punk
antagonist

Post by Atomic Punk »

Before PUSFAG and the others chime in on my resume... (hopefully the next will be funny)

When I've spent 6 years in teaching after getting out of the USN and now am a nurse, etc. (get it over already butt pirates)... I've been a USPTA pro rated coach at the high school level and what my mentor taught me was to make it fun. Of course, as pops knows, I was the head tennis coach and ran those kids through drills and made it fun, and the winners of every practice got a reward in the form of a soda. I didn't believe the pros that are ex-Stanford players that told me McEnroe is a prick, etc. I listened to them and what they told me to do worked.

Basketball (5th & 6th grades) - No talent at all but my mentor teacher taught me how to coach basketball as I wasn't very good in high school other than being tall. My team went to the finals my 2nd year after listening to other coaches.

Baseball (5th & 6th grades) - Although I was a decent player in my day and played pitcher & 1st base... how do you teach/coach and make it fun? Well, I asked other coaches and made it fun.

Football - For the KC Tards, Stephone Paige helped me my last year and couldn't believe none of his knowledge translated to game situations. I let him call plays one game when he couldn't believe the kids that ran perfect plays in practice couldn't do it in a game. I laughed at him and he bowed out and told me he couldn't believe how they couldn't run plays that we've taught them.

88, they're kids. Give them a break and shut down the drunk dads thinking they have the next superstar. Teach fundamentals and make it fun for the kids. If not, they'll get turned off and quit.
BSmack wrote:Best. AP take. Ever.

Seriously. I don't disagree with a word of it.
smackaholic
Walrus Team 6

Post by smackaholic »

fukkin' quitter.

:)