Programmer needs help!

Tech questions and answers, video game stuff.

Moderator: ElTaco

Arch Angel
Elwood

Programmer needs help!

Post by Arch Angel »

I am a programmer that does SQL, VBA, .Net, .ASP, smattering of Java and C#.

My Xeon processor (personally, they suck IMHO) is long in the tooth and I was authorized to get a new system and Google is not helping and the assholes at Microsoft said they won't tell me unless I pay them for the answers since I am contractually obligated to use their products and the double whammy is that I can only obtain Dell computers.

For multitasking is a dual core (2 individual CPU's) Xeons with lower clock speed better than a Quad Core that has higher clock speed on their core?

I need to know because my boss is hammering me on obtaining equipment for budget purposes.
PSUFAN
dents with meaning

Re: Programmer needs help!

Post by PSUFAN »

Why do you need so many resources to write code? My guess is that it would be hard to obtain a PC that wouldn't be powerful enough to handle a text editor.
King Crimson wrote:anytime you have a smoke tunnel and it's not Judas Priest in the mid 80's....watch out.
mvscal wrote:France totally kicks ass.
Shlomart Ben Yisrael
Insha'Allah

Post by Shlomart Ben Yisrael »

PSUFAN wrote:Why do you need so many resources to write code? My guess is that it would be hard to obtain a PC that wouldn't be powerful enough to handle a text editor.
Not just for coding, but for compiling (and I can only guess at MYSQL and Java) a faster clock speed would be better, but I'm not aware of any instruction set that Conroe and i7's don't have that Xeons have that would help in coding.

Price considered, I would take the higher clocked Quad.
rock rock to the planet rock ... don't stop
Felix wrote:you've become very bitter since you became jewish......
Kierland drop-kicking Wolftard wrote: Aren’t you part of the silent generation?
Why don’t you just STFU.
Arch Angel
Elwood

Post by Arch Angel »